SportSyndicate content

Picture: Viv Logie
- Thursday, 15 May 2014

The sterling service of West Coast tennis stalwart, Shirley Brown, was recognised at a national level when she was recently voted New Zealand...

By Viv Logie
- Monday, 05 May 2014

Westport teenager Charlotte Elley has won selection to the New Zealand secondary schools (NZSS) netball team, which travels to Adelaide later this...

Picture: Taine Menzies
- Wednesday, 23 April 2014

Women’s rugby league is about to make a comeback on the West Coast, with hopes of rekindling the heyday of the 1990s, but in the lower grades.

ODT
- Tuesday, 22 April 2014

New Zealand paralympian, former Hokitika teenager Holly Robinson, now studying in Dunedin, struck gold at the 2014 IPC Athletic Grand Pix, in...

- Friday, 11 April 2014

Former Greymouth teenager Nathen Manuel in his rookie Nelson
Giants basketball uniform, after gaining selection to the extended training...

By Tom Daly
- Wednesday, 09 April 2014

The Sydney Royal Show is always in the back of Adam Lowe’s mind.
“While I chop at as many meetings as possible it is extremely hard to...

By Tui Bromley
- Tuesday, 18 March 2014

The new organisers of the NBS Around Brunner Cycle Challenge hope that double last year’s field of 448 will face the starter outside the Monteith’...

By Nicholas McBride
- Friday, 14 February 2014

Robin Judkins arrived at Serpentine beach before dawn today, blowing the hooter to start the Speight’s Coast to Coast two-day race for the last...

By Tui Bromley
- Wednesday, 15 January 2014

Twenty-five hardy souls will contest the annual Croesus Track run — renamed the Goat Race — on Saturday, while 20 even hardier folk will attack...

- Tuesday, 14 January 2014

The brand new West Coast dragon boat racing team took top honours in their section at the Aoraki Dragon Boat Club championship in Akaroa, on...

By Janna Sherman
- Tuesday, 14 January 2014

The Hokitika Racecourse is all set to host the last meeting of the West Coast new year racing circuit tomorrow, with strong fields and good track...

By Paul McBride
- Monday, 06 January 2014

Fine weather and a crowd of 1400 defied the odds on Saturday for a successful day’s racing at Omoto.

By Viv Logie
- Friday, 22 November 2013

Two players and a coach were yesterday awarded top honours for their service to West Coast junior rugby league.

By Paul McBride
- Thursday, 21 November 2013

Errol and Max Skelton, members of the legendary ‘Skelton boys’ riding dynasty, were back on the West Coast this week tracing memories and catching...

by Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 20 November 2013

A Hokitika boy is the fourth recipient of the J B McCarthy Cup, topping off a great season for West Coast under-16 representative rugby.