SportSyndicate content

- Monday, 18 August 2014

For the first time in 12 years the South rugby team will get its name etched on the Woodham Shield -- the pinnacle of South Westland rugby --...

By Viv Logie
- Wednesday, 13 August 2014

Greymouth High School maths teacher Rosa Cooper will head off to Hong Kong tomorrow as a member the New Zealand korfball team for the Asia-Oceania...

By Janna Sherman
- Tuesday, 12 August 2014

About 100 local women will be among the 1100-strong field when the Spring Challenge adventure race heads off from Hokitika next month.

By Tui Bromley
- Monday, 11 August 2014

The one-liners flew thick and fast as glum West Coast rugby supporters filed out of Rugby Park, Greymouth, on Saturday after a rampant Buller team...

By Viv Logie
- Friday, 01 August 2014

Former West Coaster Ruth Croft is blazing a trail across some of the toughest endurance runs in the world and last weekend won the Mount Fuji...

- Thursday, 31 July 2014

Ex West Coast welterweight boxer Bowyn Morgan lost his Commonwealth Games quarter-final bout on a controversial split decision overnight.

- Wednesday, 30 July 2014

Greymouth international squash player Paul Coll has taken a couple of wins in his doubles and mixed doubles squash matches this morning at the...

By Viv Logie
- Tuesday, 29 July 2014

Former Greymouth boxer Bowyn Morgan has made it into the quarter-finals in the welterweight division at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

- Friday, 25 July 2014

Greymouth squash player Paul Coll got off to a perfect start at the Commonwealth Games, winning his first competition match when he took the court...

By Viv Logie
- Tuesday, 22 July 2014

When the curtain rises on the Glasgow Commonwealth Games this week, West Coasters will have the opportunity to follow two Greymouth athletes in...

Picture: Supplied
- Thursday, 03 July 2014

Members of the John Paul II High School senior A netball team — Rebecca Sollitt, left, Natasha Hurrell, Bridgette Kilpatrick, Cassidy Rae, Seini...

By Janna Sherman
- Tuesday, 17 June 2014

About 3000 athletic visitors will swell the Hokitika population in September as the largest Spring Challenge field yet descends on the town.

By Brendon McMahon
- Monday, 16 June 2014

Hokitika will host an international chopping event early next year.
The two-day event on Cass Square on January 17-18 will mark the 100th...

By Viv Logie
- Wednesday, 21 May 2014

Jo Smith never thought she would join the gym let alone win a medal for body sculpturing.

By Viv Logie
- Tuesday, 20 May 2014

Former Coaster Paul Coll’s rapid rise in the squash world continued today when he was named in the New Zealand squash team to compete at the...