MiningSyndicate content

Laura Mills
- Monday, 11 December 2017

The West Coast mayors have agreed to gather facts, and meet with other ministers, after new Conservation Minister Eugenie Sage only a few weeks...

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 23 November 2017

Kiwi Rail says it made a mistake after failing to notify the public that trains were again running on the Rapahoe line through Runanga township,...

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 22 November 2017

Environmental groups are pressuring Conservation Minister Eugenie Sage to refuse the large open-cast Te Kuha coalmine behind Westport after it was...

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 21 November 2017

Greymouth has staked its claim for the new Pike River Recovery Agency to be based here, and not in Wellington or Christchurch.

Viv Logie
- Monday, 13 November 2017

A Greymouth woman says she has the fire brigades to thank that her house was not engulfed by the suspected arson that destroyed two neighbouring...

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 09 November 2017

Just 13 days after being sworn in, new Conservation Minister Eugenie Sage has ruled out any new mining on conservation land.

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 26 September 2017

A Queensland-based mining contracting company has offered jobs to 21 former coalminers in Greymouth.

Chris Stewart
- Thursday, 06 July 2017

West Coast retailers are being contacted as part of a nationwide campaign on behalf of a New Zealand music collective, requiring them to pay for...

Laura Mills
- Monday, 03 July 2017

Solid Energy has applied for consent to flood the abandoned Spring Creek Mine, bringing to a sorry end 150 years of underground coalmining on the...

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 19 April 2017

After three years of planning, the company behind a new coalmine development within view of downtown Westport has applied for resource consent,...

Laura Mills
- Friday, 03 February 2017

Solid Energy has announced the closure of the Spring Creek Mine after failing to find a buyer, closing the door on one of the best coal resources...

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 19 January 2017
Paul McBride
- Wednesday, 18 January 2017

Greymouth funeral director Laurie Anisy was a trainee and just two weeks shy of his 17th birthday when he got word there had been an explosion at...

- Monday, 16 January 2017

A minute's silence will be observed in Greymouth on Thursday to mark the 50th anniversary of the 1967 Strongman Mine disaster which claimed 19...

Paul McBride
- Thursday, 29 December 2016

About 200 people from Australia and New Zealand have registered for the Strongman Mine disaster commemorations in three weeks' time.