MiningSyndicate content

Chris Stewart
- Thursday, 06 July 2017

West Coast retailers are being contacted as part of a nationwide campaign on behalf of a New Zealand music collective, requiring them to pay for...

Laura Mills
- Monday, 03 July 2017

Solid Energy has applied for consent to flood the abandoned Spring Creek Mine, bringing to a sorry end 150 years of underground coalmining on the...

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 19 April 2017

After three years of planning, the company behind a new coalmine development within view of downtown Westport has applied for resource consent,...

Laura Mills
- Friday, 03 February 2017

Solid Energy has announced the closure of the Spring Creek Mine after failing to find a buyer, closing the door on one of the best coal resources...

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 19 January 2017
Paul McBride
- Wednesday, 18 January 2017

Greymouth funeral director Laurie Anisy was a trainee and just two weeks shy of his 17th birthday when he got word there had been an explosion at...

- Monday, 16 January 2017

A minute's silence will be observed in Greymouth on Thursday to mark the 50th anniversary of the 1967 Strongman Mine disaster which claimed 19...

Paul McBride
- Thursday, 29 December 2016

About 200 people from Australia and New Zealand have registered for the Strongman Mine disaster commemorations in three weeks' time.

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 23 November 2016

Allied Concrete says it will not supply concrete to help seal the Pike River Mine, at least for now.

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 22 November 2016

Protesters were again moved off the Pike River Mine access road this morning, while some family members appealed to the conscience of the...

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 01 November 2016

Solid Energy says it remains in discussions over the future of the Spring Creek underground coalmine at Dunollie, and the small Reddale open-cast...

Laura Mills
- Monday, 31 October 2016

Birchfield Coal Mines has signed an agreement with Solid Energy to buy the Strongman and Liverpool open-cast mines near Greymouth, while Bathurst...

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 11 May 2016

Greymouth lounge bar Ferraris has been sold to the Regent Theatre trust, which plans to keep it operating in a revamped format that will see the...

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 03 May 2016

Solid Energy has withdrawn mining operations from the bottom of the pit at the Reddale open-cast coalmine near Reefton, due to slumping.

- Friday, 04 March 2016

Birchfield Coal Mines Ltd has restructured its Giles Creek operation, near Reefton, resulting in "a number" of redundancies.