HealthSyndicate content

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 19 June 2014

Paroa parents Cassie Brown and Josh Sutherland have been told it is a miracle their 10-month old son Luka, who has a rare disorder, is alive.

APNZ
- Monday, 16 June 2014

A group of volunteers who try to make living with cancer easier for people have been recognised for their work.

Janna Sherman
- Thursday, 12 June 2014

The Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) last night assured Hokitika residents there was “minimal risk” of any human health effects from the cull...

Janna Sherman
- Wednesday, 11 June 2014

At least 500 chickens were destroyed yesterday in a Ministry of Primary Industries (MPI) operation at a Kaihinu
property, on the outskirts...

By Brendon McMahon
- Thursday, 29 May 2014

A “small” outbreak of legionnaires disease last year was eventually traced to a dirty spa pool at a Hokitika motel, according to the latest New...

By Laura Mills
- Friday, 23 May 2014

The Auditor General says the West Coast District Health Board is on intensive monitoring, noting the impact of staff changes.

By Laura Mills
- Friday, 09 May 2014

A new $62 million Greymouth Hospital has been signed off, complete with 60 beds, a bigger maternity unit and modern operating theatres.

Janna Sherman
- Friday, 02 May 2014

by Janna Sherman
A $1.5 million upgrade has finally been confirmed for the Hokitika rest home.

By Janna Sherman
- Thursday, 01 May 2014

A $1.5 million upgrade has finally been confirmed for the Hokitika rest home.

Laura Mills
- Monday, 28 April 2014

Laura Mills

Ngai Tahu Property Ltd has been negotiating as a possibly private investor in the $60 million replacement Greymouth Hospital....

By Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 16 April 2014

A Westland resident has tested positive for tuberculosis (Tb), but Community and Public Health says there is no wider health risk.

By Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 08 April 2014

The Ministry of Health’s chief adviser of child and youth health has personally visited the Gloriavale Christian Community at Lake Haupiri to try...

By Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 19 February 2014

A distinguished 55-year nursing career has drawn to a close with the retirement of Hokitika woman Jeanette Lee.

By Laura Mills
- Monday, 17 February 2014

West Coast District Health Board chief executive David Meates says he is “confident” experts can come up with a new Grey Base Hospital that they...

- Wednesday, 22 January 2014

The Greymouth Star received a copy of the business case for the Grey Base Hospital rebuild, under the Official Information Act.