GeneralSyndicate content

Viv Logie
- Friday, 13 January 2017

Kumara was today counting the cost of the decision to abandon the Gold Nuggets meeting for the year, but the racing club says it would have been...

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 11 January 2017

Property values in the Grey District have fallen 13% in the past 10 years.

Brendon McMahon
- Monday, 09 January 2017

Motorists travelling between the West Coast and Canterbury were urged to go through the Lewis Pass after a scrub fire at Mount Horrible kept...

Viv Logie
- Friday, 06 January 2017

Three people were injured, one critically, in a two-car collision late yesterday near Lyell, reducing State highway 6 through the Upper Buller...

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 04 January 2017

Car parks are overflowing, motels are full and West Coast hot spots packed to the rafters as the tourism season gets into high gear.

Brendon McMahon
- Friday, 30 December 2016

New alcohol rules imposed on the Kumara Nuggets race meeting on January 14 have resulted in a sting in the tail for punters.

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 28 December 2016

The little, hidden-from-view Our Lady of the Way Church at Turiwhate, deconsecrated 18 years ago, was back in use recently to host its first...

Brendon McMahon
- Thursday, 22 December 2016

Visitors arriving at the railway station - the key hub for tourists arriving in Greymouth - are yet to be able to fully access the free wifi being...

Viv Logie
- Wednesday, 21 December 2016

The Greymouth wharf retail fish shop will close down on Friday.
Westfleet director Craig Boote said the decision to shut the Gresson Street...

Brendon McMahon
- Tuesday, 20 December 2016

The Grey District Council will begin a fuller investigation in the new year of options to replace the Omoto Reservoir amid fears Greymouth could...

Brendon McMahon
- Friday, 16 December 2016

A white elephant has appeared on the site but the Grey District Council is forging ahead with its flagship project -- a $1.7 million town square...

Paul McBride
- Thursday, 15 December 2016

The ground has been broken for the new Taramakau road bridge, with construction to begin early in the new year.

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 15 December 2016

Grey District Council chief executive Paul Pretorius has been appointed for a final three-year term.

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 14 December 2016

Hokitika woman Lisa Tumahai has taken over the mantle from Mark Solomon as the kaiwhakahaere (chairman) of the billion dollar entity, Te Runanga o...

Brendon McMahon
- Friday, 09 December 2016

A vital part of the Greymouth water supply, the Omoto reservoir is at "high risk" - an earthquake could cause it to fail and wash out State...