EnvironmentSyndicate content

- Wednesday, 25 June 2014

An international science team plans to drill a 1.3km-deep hole into the Alpine Fault, near Whataroa, later this year to find out more about the ‘...

By Janna Sherman
- Monday, 23 June 2014

The Department of Conservation plans to build a new viewing platform to improve visitor safety at the Hokitika Gorge.

By Laura Mills
- Friday, 20 June 2014

Parliament will be asked to pass urgent legislation to enable the recovery of native timber blown over in Cyclone Ita on West Coast public...

Janna Sherman
- Wednesday, 11 June 2014

At least 500 chickens were destroyed yesterday in a Ministry of Primary Industries (MPI) operation at a Kaihinu
property, on the outskirts...

ODT
- Thursday, 05 June 2014

Former Minister of Conservation Helen Clark says she has “no recollection whatsoever” of the Haast-Hollyford road reserve being removed from maps...

By Brendon McMahon
- Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Monitoring for the international weather research project based at Hokitika Airport will ramp up this week once specialised equipment is set up....

By Brendon McMahon
- Tuesday, 06 May 2014

The West Coast Wildneress Trail is open for business despite storm damage, although one section requires “significant remedial work” over at least...

- Tuesday, 15 April 2014

West Coast leaders have signed their support for the proposed Haast-Hollyford highway.

- Thursday, 27 March 2014

The Lake Brunner Community Catchment Care Group and volunteers were busy at the weekend bedding in about 2500 native plants at the Lake Poerua...

- Wednesday, 19 March 2014

The Department of Conservation has begun the mass vaccination of Haast and Okarito kiwi chicks after seven young birds — some of the rarest kiwis...

Otago Daily Times
- Thursday, 23 January 2014

Few New Zealanders realise their country would be under water without the titanic geological clash of two tectonic plates, which also formed the...

By Tui Bromley
- Friday, 06 December 2013

The mystery backers behind the proposed Haast-Hollyford toll highway — Australian Investor group JCP and construction companies Blakely and...

By Brendon McMahon
- Monday, 18 November 2013

The new Hokitika seawall will not be extended further, in the meantime.

By Janna Sherman
- Wednesday, 13 November 2013

The cost of completing the Hokitika seawall could be bumped by a further $600,000 as the West Coast Regional Council looks to extend the wall to...

By Janna Sherman
- Tuesday, 05 November 2013

West Coast anti-1080 campaigners made a last ditch effort on Saturday to protest an aerial poison drop around the Lake Kaniere water catchment.