EnvironmentSyndicate content

Nichols McBride
- Thursday, 06 August 2015

With snow forecast for the alpine passes, the New Zealand Transport Agency today urged motorists to take care on the roads this weekend.

Greymouth Star
- Wednesday, 01 July 2015

A significant wetland at Okuru is to be preserved and added to the conservation estate following its purchase by the Nature Heritage Fund.

- Tuesday, 30 June 2015

A year after 1080 poison rained from the sky as Reefton sisters were enjoying a picnic near Kokiri, both are still experiencing ill health and...

By Laura Mills
- Friday, 12 September 2014

The largest 1080 poisoning operation in New Zealand conservation history is about to get under way in northern Buller and Tasman.

Laura Mills
- Monday, 08 September 2014

Five new West Coast marine reserves were officially opened yesterday at Punakaiki by Conservation Minister Nick Smith.

By Laura Mills
- Friday, 05 September 2014

Every day delayed in progressing the Haast-Hollyford road proposal is adding $15,068 to the cost, according to backers.
The road cost was...

By Laura Mills
- Thursday, 04 September 2014

The National Party has promised to ban dairy cattle from waterways, but says it will allow West Coast farmers who deal with metres of rainfall...

By Janna Sherman
- Wednesday, 13 August 2014

A mass mailout to 13,500 West Coast homes is planned to promote the development of a Haast-Hollyford road.

- Monday, 11 August 2014

The West Coast Penguin Trust’s penguin-proof fence on the Coast Road is almost finished, thanks to a $8000 boost.
Trustee Leon Dalziel said...

- Wednesday, 23 July 2014

Work has started on installing distance markers 1km apart along the West Coast Wilderness Trail, starting at the Greymouth end.

By Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 15 July 2014

West Coast iwi Te Runanga o Makaawhio is concerned after buffers around waterways were removed from two pending 1080 helicopter poison drops.

- Thursday, 03 July 2014

Hokitika last month had its warmest June day in 149 years, when the town had just been carved out of the bush by its first hardly settlers.

- Wednesday, 25 June 2014

An international science team plans to drill a 1.3km-deep hole into the Alpine Fault, near Whataroa, later this year to find out more about the ‘...

By Janna Sherman
- Monday, 23 June 2014

The Department of Conservation plans to build a new viewing platform to improve visitor safety at the Hokitika Gorge.

By Laura Mills
- Friday, 20 June 2014

Parliament will be asked to pass urgent legislation to enable the recovery of native timber blown over in Cyclone Ita on West Coast public...