CommunitySyndicate content

By Viv Logie
- Thursday, 23 January 2014

For the first time in 85 years the McEnaney name will be missing from the roll call at the Greymouth Fire Station, when chief fire officer Alan...

By Janna Sherman
- Monday, 20 January 2014

A fresh proposal to restore and shift the desecrated Pioneer Statue to a safer location has been put before the Westland District Council.

By Brendon McMahon and Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 08 January 2014

The hundreds of Chinese goldminers who came to the West Coast are to be honoured in a $200,000 project to develop commemorative gardens in Kumara...

- Friday, 20 December 2013

Test firing of the 200-year-old Hokitika cannon will go ahead at 10am tomorrow.
Cannon enthusiast Colin Adams said the police had given the...

By Janna Sherman
- Friday, 20 December 2013

The fate of the earthquake risk Hokitika RSA building has been deferred to give members and the Westland District Council time to decide what do...

Picture: Nicholas McBride
- Monday, 09 December 2013

The Greymouth Scouts could have used a boat during the Greymouth Christmas Parade on Saturday. Within minutes of it starting, it was hit by more...

By Tui Bromley
- Friday, 06 December 2013

Plans are afoot for the town of Greymouth to celebrate its 150th birthday on July 22 next year — six months ahead of Hokitika celebrations.

- Wednesday, 16 October 2013

The West Coast Federation of Women’s Institute celebrated its 80th jubilee at Shantytown at the weekend, including this display of banners at the...

- Monday, 14 October 2013

Greymouth Rotary president Vinay Chandra, left, Ken Williams, Grey District Mayor Tony Kokshoorn and Rotary district governor John Rickard joined...

By Janna Sherman
- Wednesday, 25 September 2013

A Hokitika church group is turning heads with the launch of a new fundraising calendar.

- Friday, 13 September 2013

IT professionals employed at Grey Base Hospital working in “scary” earthquake-prone buildings have been suspended without pay, after a partial...

- Friday, 13 September 2013

PICTURE: Rebekah Fraser

By Nicholas McBride
- Tuesday, 20 August 2013

The Runanga Area Association will begin fundraising for a feasibility study on the Miners’ Hall as it looks to allow the public back into the...

By Rebekah Fraser
- Thursday, 15 August 2013

The days are numbered for the dilapidated Three Mile Hall, as a battle begins over hall funds.

- Monday, 12 August 2013

Mobile coverage just got better for residents and visitors to the Blackball area, as Vodafone lights up its newly built cell site under the...