CommunitySyndicate content

Janna Sherman
- Friday, 15 August 2014

Hokitika yesterday to mark exactly 100 years since the first Westland contingent left for battle in World War One.

Nicholas McBride
- Thursday, 14 August 2014

The Grey District Council has decided to spend the bare minimum on the old Greymouth Port slipway to keep it operational — for now.

By Brendon McMahon
- Monday, 11 August 2014

When a young Margaret Richards came home one day in November 1947 to find her mother in intense conversation with the Hokitika Presbyterian...

- Wednesday, 06 August 2014

Greymouth-Mawhera based theatre group, Kiwi-Possum Productions, will present its new play Ted, Poppy and World War Two at the Regent Theatre in...

- Tuesday, 05 August 2014

A picnic, supper dance and old-fashioned games will be held next Easter to mark the 150th anniversary of Moonlight.

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 30 July 2014

A modest Kaniere teenager who helped save the life of a whitebaiter at the Hokitika boat ramp last year has been recognised for his bravery.

Janna Sherman
- Friday, 25 July 2014

Two plaques at the Tambo shipwreck memorial have been reinstated as work continues to improve the Hokitika River spit.

Laura Mills
- Friday, 25 July 2014

A proposed restoration plan for the Runanga Miners’ Hall was to be lodged with the Grey District Council by the 5pm deadline today, and the hall...

Janna Sherman
- Thursday, 24 July 2014

The very genesis of Hokitika is set for a revamp.

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 23 July 2014

An inter-denominational church service on Cass Square is planned as part of the Hokitika Goldrush 150th celebrations in December.

By Laura Mills
- Monday, 21 July 2014

Moana Anglican parishioners have urged residents to attend a meeting in the lakeside township tomorrow to discuss the future of the only remaining...

By Janna Sherman
- Monday, 21 July 2014

The condemned Hokitika RSA building is being dismantled board by board as veterans make the most of their salvage rights before the final...

By Brendon McMahon
- Friday, 18 July 2014

Hokitika policewoman Nerida Manson is moving on up the ranks and over the hill.

By Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 16 July 2014

Hokitika will sport charcoal and gold at the height of celebrations to mark the town’s Goldrush 150th anniversary this summer.

Brendon McMahon
- Monday, 14 July 2014

A canvas backdrop painted 56 years ago by West Coast artist ‘Dusty’ Rhodes for a Hokitika Museum display has re-emerged years after being rolled...