NewsSyndicate content

Viv Logie
- Thursday, 08 December 2016

West Coast Fish and Game have come to the aid of the Paringa Salmon Farm and cafe, which lost as many as 13,000 salmon after intruders tampered...

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 07 December 2016

An abandoned house at Runanga went up in smoke early today in what is being described as a suspicious fire - the fourth building fire in the area...

Brendon McMahon
- Tuesday, 06 December 2016

Sewer warning signs on the Greymouth floodwall are a "bad look", Grey District Mayor Tony Kokshoorn says.

Laura Mills
- Monday, 05 December 2016

Eighty-three people were at Pike River this morning, as pressure grew on the Government to meet with families.

Paul McBride
- Friday, 02 December 2016

The Pike River Mine blockade grew to 40 protesters this morning, joined by New Zealand author Dame Fiona Kidman.

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 01 December 2016

Pike River Mine protesters ramped up their action this morning, fired up after a frustrating meeting with Solid Energy management in Greymouth...

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 30 November 2016

One person died in a mid-morning crash between two trucks on the busy State highway 65 near Springs Junction.

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 29 November 2016

Some West Coast dairy farmers have switched to once-a-day milking and others are using helicopters to spread urea as a wet autumn became a wet...

Brendon McMahon
- Friday, 25 November 2016

A press release implying a "large aftershock" could hit the West Coast was retracted within an hour last night, prompting criticism from...

- Thursday, 24 November 2016

Disgraced Hokitika chartered accountant Lindsay Smith has started up two new companies, despite being convicted of fraud.

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 23 November 2016

Allied Concrete says it will not supply concrete to help seal the Pike River Mine, at least for now.

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 22 November 2016

Protesters were again moved off the Pike River Mine access road this morning, while some family members appealed to the conscience of the...

Brendon McMahon
- Monday, 21 November 2016

Freedom campers parked beside the Punakaiki River blocking access to the emergency water supply, stayed put on Saturday night despite being urged...

Viv Logie
- Friday, 18 November 2016

As Kaikoura reels from the 7.8 magnitude earthquake, Murchison is buzzing.

- Wednesday, 16 November 2016